[Skip to content]

Categories of Awards

Categories of Awards

Awards for members of the College 

Meritorious Award

To be awarded to members outside Council who have given significant and devoted service to the organisation or the profession, for example through a sustained contribution to a particular sphere of professional activity (e.g. diabetes, biomechanics, new practice systems) of benefit to the organisation or the profession.  

Long Service Award

To be awarded to members who have served: 

  • on Council (for a minimum of two terms)
  • as a representative of the organisation (a minimum of 10 years)
  • a branch for a substantial number of years (minimum of 10 years)
  • a committee of the English regions, Scotland, Wales or Northern Ireland for a substantial number of years (minimum of 10 years).  


Diamond Award

To be awarded to individuals, not necessarily members of the profession, who have given outstanding service and contribution to the profession Only 25 award holders should be living at any one time. 

Honorary Vice-Presidency

To be awarded to members of the organisation on the Retired Members Roll or retiring or retired members of Council, who have given meritorious and distinguished service to the organisation.  

The Alf Morris Award

This award has been established in honour of the organisations late President, The Rt Hon Lord Morris of Manchester AO QSO, who died in 2012. The award reflects Lord Morris’s strong social conscience and the difference he made to the lives of ordinary, disadvantaged people. 

It is to be awarded to members, Fellows, or teams who have made a voluntary, personal, exceptional, and altruistic contribution to the podiatric care of disadvantaged individuals or communities in the United Kingdom or abroad.

Awards for those who are NOT members of the College

Honorary Citation

To be awarded to individuals who are not members of the organisation, who have, demonstrated that they deserve public recognition by contributing to the development of the profession in the spheres of research, new practice systems or other areas of benefit to the organisation or the profession.

Honorary Fellowship

To be awarded to any distinguished person who has rendered eminent service to chiropody or podiatry, who is not a current member of the organisation.